2017 Finals – Grange Victoria Hall – Friday 1st Sept – 19.30

This year’s Finals Concert will showcase four more outstanding young musicians from Cumbria, who will each present a 20 minute recital in competition for the 2017 Keldwyth Cumbrian Young Musicians Award.  The four finalists, chosen by judges, Mary Powney, Karen Guidici and Anthony Hewitt, from the 10 who competed in Kendal on 17th July are: Faye Bowness (soprano), Jack Horrocks (clarinet), Leah Nicholson (piano) and Ben Lowe (horn).   Last year’s winner, Heather Storer (violin), will also return to present a short recital and tell us of her exploits during the past year.  Tickets for the Finals Concert are now available for purchase – see the ‘Attend’ page for details.

The Preliminary Round was graced by six other talented musicians who each made excellent contributions to a wonderful days music-making: Olivia Smith (piano),  Amy Thompson (bassoon), William Nixon (piano), Rebecca Chandler (soprano), Ophelia Appleby (soprano), David McGregor (counter-tenor).  We hope they will all return to compete next year.