Keldwyth Award winner 2013: Alex Hilton (oboe)

The Finals evening was graced by four outstanding young musicians who each presented varied programmes of the highest standard.  The 100 strong audience were richly rewarded for their support of the Award.   Thanks go to all our supporters and to all four finalists:

  • Taneli Clarke (percussion)
  • Alex Hilton (oboe)
  • Kirsty McLean (soprano)
  • James McLeod (euphonium)

Thanks also are due to Sarah Gait (cello), the 2012 Keldwyth Award winner, who also contributed a delightful short recital and told us of her exploits during the past year.

Alex Hilton.

The photograph shows Alex Hilton being presented with the Reg Griffiths Trophy by the Keldwyth Award Vice President, Alfred Henderson, at the conclusion of the evening.

KELDWYTH AWARD 2014: Please note that next year’s Preliminary Round will be held in Kendal Town Hall on Monday 7th July 2014